Who’s Involved

The individuals below work above and beyond their already demanding conservation roles to advance the goals of the Quick Response Fund for Nature.

Expert Advisory Panel

The QRFN Expert Advisory Panel members review project proposals that align with their geographic and species areas of expertise. These advisors, who are world-renowned conservation biologists and taxonomic specialists, volunteer their time and commit to reviewing proposals in a timely manner. They are crucial to the ability of QRFN to select and fund the most deserving projects. Members of the Expert Advisory Panel, who serve as individuals, are: 

  • Dr. Bruce Beehler, Research Associate, Division of Birds, National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institution.
  • Dr. Neil Burgess, Chief Scientist, UNEP-WCMC.
  • Dr. Gerardo Ceballos, Instituto de Ecologia, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México.
  • Dr. Richard Cowling, Distinguished Professor and Director:African Centre for Coastal Paleoscience, Department of Botany, Summerstand South Campus.
  • Dr. Peter Cutter, Senior Conservation Planner, NatureServe.
  • Dr. Eric Dinerstein, Director, Biodiversity and Wildlife Solutions, RESOLVE.
  • Dr. Rodolfo Dirzo, Stanford University.
  • Dr. Stephanie Dolrenry, Lion Guardians.
  • Dr. Erica Fleishman, Colorado State University.
  • Dr. Adrian Forsyth, Executive Director, Andes Amazon Fund.
  • Dr. Robin Foster, Plant-Community Ecologist and Tropical Conservation Biologist.
  • Dr. Vicki Funk, Interim Associate Director for Science and Senior Research Scientist and Curator of the Compositae, National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institution.
  • Marc Goss, Mara Elephant Project.
  • Dr. Brian Gratwicke, Smithsonian Conservation Biology Institute.
  • Dr. Rodney Jackson, Founder and Director, Snow Leopard Conservancy.
  • Dr. Marcella Kelly, Professor, Department of Fish and Wildlife Conservation, Virginia Tech.
  • Dr. John Kress, Visiting Scholar, Dartmouth College, and Distinguished Scientist and Curator of Botany, National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institution.
  • Dr. Gary Krupnick, Head of the Plant Conservation Unit,
  • Department of Botany, Smithsonian Institution.
  • Dr. Kyran Kunkel, Director of Wildlife Restoration, American Prairie Reserve, and Science and Affiliate Professor, University of Montana.
  • Dr. John Lamoreux.
  • Dr. Bette Loiselle, Director, Tropical Conservation and Development Program, Center for Latin American Studies, and Professor, Wildlife Ecology and Conservation, University of Florida.
  • Dr. Jack Longino, Professor, Department of Biology, University of Utah.
  • Dr. Pete Lowry, Missouri Botanical Garden.
  • Dr. Laurie Marker, Executive Director, Cheetah Conservation Fund.
  • Rod Mast, President and CEO, Oceanic Society
  • Dr. Reed Noss, President, Florida Institute for Conservation Science.
  • Dr. Michael Parr, President, American Bird Conservancy.
  • Dr. John Payne, expert in Southeast Asia mammals and trees.
  • Dr. Stuart Pimm, Founder and Executive Director, Saving Species.
  • Dr. Lilian Pintea, Vice President for Conservation Science, Jane Goodall Institute.
  • Dr. Tony Rebelo, South African National Biodiversity Institute.
  • Dr. George Schatz, Curator for African and Madagascar, Missouri Botanical Garden.
  • Dr. Jan Schipper, Field Conservation Research Director, Phoenix Zoo.
  • Dr. Cagan Sekercioglu, Professor, University of Utah Department of Biology and Koç University Department of Molecular Biology and Genetics.
  • Dr. Javier Simonetti, Professor at Universidad de Chile and President Asociación Kauyeken.
  • Benjamin Skolnik, Environment Officer, US Agency for International Development. 
  • Dr. Eleanor Sterling, Jaffe Chief Conservation Scientist, Center for Biodiversity and Conservation,  American Museum of Natural History.
  • Dr. Steve Trombulak.
  • Dr. Peter Paul vanDijk, IUCN and Global Wildlife Conservation.
  • Dr. Oscar Venter, Associate Professor and Conservation Solutions Research Chair, University of Northern British Columbia.
  • Dr. Eric Wikramanayake, Chair, Environmental Foundation, Ltd.
  • Dr. Patricia Wright, Distinguished Service Professor and Founder and Executive Director, Institute for the Conservation of Tropical Environments, Stony Brook University.

Project Directors

  • Dr. Eric Dinerstein

    Founder and Director RESOLVE, Biodiversity and Wildlife Solutions Program

    Eric brings more than four decades of hands-on experience saving endangered large mammals and tropical rainforest habitat to the QRFN.

  • Don Weeden

    Executive Director Weeden Foundation

    Don helped fund the first Debt-for-Nature Swap, creating the Beni Biosphere Reserve in Bolivia, and has helped preserve more than 6,000,000 acres of biologically important habitat worldwide.

  • Justin Winters

    Executive Director One Earth

    Over the past twelve years, Justin has helped Leonardo reshape his approach to philanthropy and activism, leveraging his position as a global figure to influence decision-makers and the public on pressing environmental issues. 



  • Dr. Carly Vynne

    Manager QRFN

    Carly works with the Project Directors, Expert Advisory Panel, funders, and grantees to ensure strong operations and governance. She brings a background in conservation biology and experience in assembling diverse partnerships to design, fund, and implement successful conservation programs. Prior to joining RESOLVE, Carly was the Director of Wildlife and Habitat Conservation at the National Fish and Wildlife Foundation.

  • Sanjiv Fernando

    Research Associate RESOLVE

    Sanjiv provides administrative and mapping support for the QRFN. He brings a background in Environmental Science & Policy and experience working with communities to implement innovative solutions to prevent human-wildlife conflict